Teams: Star enforcer's premiership tilt finished

2 weeks ago 7
PR Distribution

The fairytale premiership imagination of weapon mid-season Panthers enlistee Tevita Pangai Junior is officially dashed, aft the erstwhile Bronco was near retired of his caller club's squad of 21 for the NRL expansive last owed to injury.

The barnstorming forward, who had picked up a short-term woody with the Panthers en way to joining the Bulldogs from play 2022, suffered a medial ligament wounded successful Penrith's 10-6 preliminary last triumph implicit Melbourne connected Saturday night.

READ MORE: Gallen's informing to NRL stars amid caller scandal

Pangai Junior was unwanted by Brisbane and didn't play for the nine aft Round 15.

But alternatively of being made to ticker from the sideline until helium started astatine the Bulldogs successful November, the Panthers scooped up Pangai Junior connected a $120,000 gamble, believing his grunt and spark could springiness them a boost successful their combat for the title.

Pangai Junior played six games for the Panthers, with his 100th NRL quality coming successful Round 25 against the Eels.

Star mid-season Panthers enlistee Tevita Pangai Junior. (Getty)

Penrith Panthers v South Sydney Rabbitohs | Saturday, October 3, 7:30pm AEST | Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane

Panthers 1. Dylan Edwards 2. Stephen Crichton 3. Paul Momirovski 4. Matt Burton 5. Brian To'o 6. Jarome Luai 7. Nathan Cleary 8. Moses Leota 9. Apisai Koroisau 10. James Fisher-Harris 11. Viliame Kikau 12. Kurt Capewell 13. Isaah Yeo 14. Tyrone May 15. Scott Sorensen 16. Spencer Leniu 17. Liam Martin 18. Brent Naden 19. Mitch Kenny 20. J'maine Hopgood 21. Charlie Staines

Pangai Junior has been replaced successful Penrith's starting broadside by cardinal front-rower Moses Leota, who was a precocious omission for the Panthers' preliminary last aft suffering a calf injury.

Star prop James Fisher-Harris has besides been battling a genu injury, but helium has been named to commencement successful the expansive final.

Front-rower Spencer Leniu was drafted onto Penrith's seat to regenerate Leota and has retained his place, giving him a changeable astatine premiership glory aft helium missed the 2020 decider.

And superb winger Brian To'o has been named successful the Panthers' starting broadside contempt this week being spotted successful a satellite footwear and a wheelchair.

Brian To'o celebrates scoring a effort during the Panthers' preliminary last triumph implicit the Storm. (NRL Imagery)

READ MORE: David Warner dropped by IPL team

Rabbitohs 1. Blake Taaffe 2. Alex Johnston 3. Dane Gagai 4. Campbell Graham 5. Jaxson Paulo 6. Cody Walker 7. Adam Reynolds 8. Mark Nicholls 9. Damien Cook 10. Tevita Tatola 11. Keaon Koloamatangi 12. Jaydn Su'A 13. Cameron Murray 14. Benji Marshall 15. Jacob Host 16. Thomas Burgess 17. Jai Arrow 18. Taane Milne 19. Patrick Mago 20. Braidon Burns 21. Jed Cartwright

Rabbitohs skipper Adam Reynolds investigating his groin up of the NRL expansive final. (NRL Imagery)

South Sydney person named the aforesaid 17 for a third-straight finals clash.

Captain and seasoned halfback Adam Reynolds is warring a groin wounded during the leader-up to the decider, but the Broncos-bound playmaker is assured helium tin get done the week and the game.

It remains to beryllium seen if Reynolds oregon rookie fullback Blake Taaffe volition instrumentality connected goal-kicking duties successful the expansive final.

For a regular dose of the champion of the breaking quality and exclusive contented from Wide World of Sports, subscribe to our newsletter by clicking here!

Dally M awards successful pictures: Manly megastar Tom Trbojevic takes retired apical gong arsenic crippled sparkles connected nighttime of nights

Read Entire Article